Mercoledì, 17 Ottobre 2018

Italian regions' requests for EU solidarity funds denied


(ANSA) - Ancona, September 26 - The request by 11 Italian
regions for European Union solidarity funds for damage from
heavy snowstorms last February was refused on Wednesday by an EU
review commission.
The regions of Abruzzo, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania,
Emilia-Romagna, Lazio, Marche, Molise, Puglia, Tuscany and
Umbria together applied for 2.7 billion euros for last winter's
snow emergency.
According to European Commissioner for Regional Policy
Johannes Hahn, "the request does not meet the criteria required
for the EU solidarity fund".
Brussels reviewers said that two out of the three criteria
were not met, including the minimal damage estimate filed by
Italy, which was below the 3.6 billion euros required.
Italy submitted documentation estimating 2.7 billion euros
in damages.
Marche Regional Governor Gian Mario Spacca called the
decision a "great disappointment".
"The EU has not heard our people's cry of suffering
brought on by the emergency that has harmed living conditions in
our territory," said Spacca.
Spacca emphasised that "the formalism the European Union
applies is a standardized assessment based only on the
parameters of red tape. It disregards the real aspects of a
painful event that forced us to call on Europe's solidarity".

© Riproduzione riservata

* Campi obbligatori

Immagine non superiore a 5Mb (Formati permessi: JPG, JPEG, PNG)
Video non superiore a 10Mb (Formati permessi: MP4, MOV, M4V)


Accedi con il tuo account Facebook

Login con

Login con Facebook
  • Seguici su