Martedì, 16 Ottobre 2018

EU accepts Nobel Peace prize


Oslo, December 10 - The 2012 Nobel Peace prize was
awarded to the European Union on Friday, with leaders stressing
the important role of Italy in its formation.
In accepting the prize on behalf of all 27 member nations,
European Council President Herman Van Rompuy mentioned the
Treaty of Rome, which in 1957 laid the foundation for the future
European Union.
Last week a short EU documentary in honor of the prize made
no mention of Italy, to the outrage of Italian politicians.
"The leaders of six states met in Rome, 'la Citta' Eterna'
(Eternal City), to begin a new future," said Van Rompuy, joined
by European Commission President Jose' Manuel Barroso.
Italy, Belgium, France, Luxembourg, Netherlands and West
Germany were the original signatories.
The 54-year-old organisation won the Nobel for advancing
peace and reconciliation in Europe since WWII.
The award comes as the EU faces the biggest economic crisis
in its history, with many members battling recession amid the
euro's financial woes.
The last organisation to get the award was Medecins Sans
Frontieres (Doctors Without Frontiers), who won in 1999.

© Riproduzione riservata

* Campi obbligatori

Immagine non superiore a 5Mb (Formati permessi: JPG, JPEG, PNG)
Video non superiore a 10Mb (Formati permessi: MP4, MOV, M4V)


Accedi con il tuo account Facebook

Login con

Login con Facebook
  • Seguici su